|Bellefonte, PA – Opening Day of Trout Season is coming on Saturday, April 17, 2010, so make plans to get out and try your luck fishing on Pine Creek located in Lycoming and Tioga Counties in North Central Pennsylvania.
Pine Creek drains much of Tioga and Lycoming counties and encompasses the Pine Creek Gorge Natural Area that extends more than 40 miles in length. The Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission stocks about 57 miles of this coolwater fishery with brown and rainbow trout to provide quality angling opportunities. Numerous public access areas along the stream allow anglers access for wading and launching canoes and kayaks. A multi-use rail trail parallels the stream for more than 60 miles and provides for excellent public angling access.
Pine Creek is classified as Approved Trout Waters from the confluence with Genessee Forks to the confluence with Little Pine Creek in Waterville. Fishing is permitted 24 hours a day after 8:00 a.m. on Opening Day. Creel limits during the regular season (April 17 to Labor Day) is five (5) trout per day (combined species). Minimum size for possession is seven (7) inches. During the extended season (January 1 to February 28 and the day after Labor Day to December 31), the creel limit is three (3) trout per day.
A 1.2 mile section of Pine Creek from the confluence with Slate Run downstream to 150 meters upstream of the confluence with Naval Run is managed under Delayed Harvest Artificial Lures Only (DHALO) regulations. An additional 1.0 mile section from the confluence with Darling Run downstream to 150 meters downstream of Owassee Slide Run is also managed under DHALO regulations. These sections are open to year round fishing from one hour before sunrise to one hour after sunset. Under DHALO regulations, anglers may harvest trout from June 15 through Labor Day. During the harvest period the daily creel limit is three (3) trout per day, caught or in possession on the waters under these regulations. Minimum size for possession is nine (9) inches.
Anglers are reminded to consult the Summary of Pennsylvania Fishing Laws and Regulations for more information. In addition to a valid fishing license, trout anglers 16 years of age and older must possess a Trout/Salmon Stamp to fish for trout. Licenses must be displayed on an outer garment. Licenses are available to be purchased online at www.fishandboat.com or from issuing agents across the state.
Don’t miss the upcoming Fish for Free Days! Fish for Free Days are Saturday, May 22 and Sunday, June 6. No fishing license is needed on these days. All other regulations apply.
The mission of the Fish and Boat Commission is to protect, conserve, and enhance the Commonwealth’s aquatic resources and provide fishing and boating opportunities. For more information about fishing and boating in Pennsylvania, please visit our website at www.fishandboat.com.
Spring Reilly, Regional Outreach & Education Coordinator
814.359.5193 or firstname.lastname@example.org