Fishing & boating montage
County Guide - click for index
Regional Reports - click for index
Biologist Reports/Fisheries Management - click for index
Ralph W. Abele
Conservation Heritage Award
Dr. Maurice Goddard and Ralph Abele
Dr. Maurice Goddard (left) and Ralph Abele
The Ralph W. Abele Conservation Heritage Award is the highest recognition the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission (PFBC) provides to persons who distinguished themselves in the cause of conservation.

The PFBC established the Award to recognize citizens of Pennsylvania who have made outstanding contributions to the protection, conservation and enhancement of the aquatic resources of the Commonwealth. The award serves as a memorial to Ralph Abele for his steadfast and courageous work in protecting and conserving our natural resources.

The Abele Award is presented to a Pennsylvanian who has dedicated his or her time and energy to the conservation of the state's natural resources, specifically the aquatic resources, through one or more of the following accomplishments:

  • Personally invested heavily in the long-term education of Pennsylvania's youth on conservation issues vital to an improved aquatic environment.
  • Put at risk their person and livelihood to undertake public activities and positions on behalf of improving and protecting the aquatic resources of Pennsylvania.
  • Led a regional or statewide environmental effort that has been recognized for its duration and success in protecting and enhancing the aquatic resources of Pennsylvania.
  • Played a leading role in reclaiming and enhancing a major significant natural water resource within the Commonwealth.
  • Led an effort to pass major environmental legislation for the protection, conservation and enhancement of the natural environment of Pennsylvania.
  • Brought national recognition to Pennsylvania through personal activities, actions and contributions to the aquatic resources.

Employees and active Commissioners of the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission are not eligible for this award.

Featured topics
Ralph W. Abele Bio
Call for Nominations
Ralph W. Abele Scholarship Fund
Historical Marker Honoring Ralph W. Abele Unveiled
PA State Archives Ceremony Honors Ralph W. Abele
The Abele Memorial Glen
The Legacy of Ralph W. Abele
Related topics
PFBC Awards
Executive Director
About PFBC
1991 - Ken Sink
1992 - Dr. Maurice Goddard
1993 - Dr. William Kodrich
1994 - Lenny Green
1996 - Robert W. McCullough, Jr.
1997 - Peter S. Duncan
1998 - James L. Myers
1999 - Larry J. Schweiger
2000 - Enoch S. ("Inky") Moore
2001 - Robert P. Ging, Jr., Esq. & Raymond Savel
2002 - Dr. Ed Bellis
2003 - Edward Kissell
2004 - Rozell A. Stidd
2005 - Richard St. Pierre
2006 - Dr. Ruth Patrick & Thomas J. Kerr
2007 - Barbara Yeaman
2008 - William E. Sharpe
2012 – Robert Hetz
2014 – Franklin Kury
Bottom navigation bar
Copyright Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
click for Commonwealth of PA website click for list of PA state agencies click for PA online services Get your fishing license Register/title a boat Web Policies Site Map Contact Us PFBC Home Page