|Boating Courses & Safety Certificates
|Knowledgeable boaters are safer boaters!
Boating courses are fun for the entire family and are offered at many locations throughout the state and in your
own home. People who successfully complete a Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission approved boating course are issued
a Boating Safety Education Certificate good for a lifetime.
Boating Safety Education Certificates are required:
- To operate a personal watercraft (definition)
- For persons born on or after January 1,
1982, to operate boats powered by motors greater than 25 horsepower.
Any operator that is required to have a Boating Safety Education Certificate must carry the certificate with them while operating a boat. (Scrolll down to the bottom of this page for information about obtaining a durable, waterproof plastic card)
Approved permanent Boating Safety Education Certificates for Pennsylvania residents must be issued by the PA Fish & Boat
Commission. Out of state boaters must have a certificate issued for a course approved by the National Association
of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA).
|COURSE FACT SHEETS
Distance Learning (Internet &
& Water Safety Awareness (students grades 6-12)
|In addition to the Commission courses, there are approved classroom boating courses
are available from the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, U.S. Power Squadron and providers listed below. In some cases, there
are fees for these courses in addition to the permanent Boating Safety Education Certificate fee of $10.
Boating safety agencies and organizations
|Home Study Courses (fact
|The Commission has two approved Internet-based boating courses and one home-study,
video-based course for distance learning. There are fees for these courses in addition to the permanent
Boating Safety Education Certificate fee of $10.
Home-Study, Video-Based Course
- Learn at home with Roni as your guide. Order the Boat Pennsylvania home-study, video-based boating course.
Visit the Boat Pennsylvania website or call
1-800-830-2268 to order. There is a charge plus an additional fee of $10 for successful students
who choose to purchase their permanent PA Boating Safety Education Certificate.
Commission-issued Boating Safety Education Certificate is a durable, waterproof plastic card. We punched a hole in
it to make it handy to attach to your life jacket, boat keys or the lanyard on your PWC.
To obtain a card, complete an Application for a Permanent Boating Safety Education Certificate Card. The application can be used to:
Processing and delivery of permanent Boating Safety Education Certificates may take 30 to 40 days. Should you not receive a permanent card within that time frame, contact the PFBC at 888-723-4741 for assistance. Please note that temporary PFBC Boating Safety Education Certificates are valid for only 60 days from the date of issue.